2017: The Year In Review | Top 25 Tracks

AGP tracks 2With the end of our calendar year upon us, many of us blogging types turn to cast a gaze over the past 12 months and deliver a year end recap. It’s been a few years since we  completed this exercise, but with a year as strong as  2017 was, the opportunity to spotlight the releases and artists that one could’ve found clamoring from the AGP offices in  the past year was too good to pass up. We have compiled the 25 songs below that ended up in heavy rotation on our turntables as well as on the various streaming platforms we frequented this year. You’ll probable notice the  bulk of favorite tracks have origins in the American Northeast which speaks volumes about those artists, labels like Disposable America and Exploding in Sound Records, not to mention the thriving scenes in Allston, Northampton,  Brooklyn, and Providence.

25. Protomartyr – A Private Understanding

24. Soft Fangs – Honey Colony

23. Big Heet – On A Wire

22. Lost Film – I Forget

21. Kindling – Wait

20. The Bats – Rooftops

19. Milked – Goodbye Durango

18. Yankee Bluff – Like An Insect

17. Black Beach – Cluttered Head

16. The Spirit of The Beehive – Cops Come Looking

15. Tobin Sprout – Cowboy Curtains

14. Rick Rude – Bald & Fat In Houston, TX

13. Two Inch Astronaut – Can You Please Not Help

12. Twin Foxes – Own Eyes

11. Infinity Girl – Don’t Believe

10.  Tery Malts – Cheap Mimicry 

9. Out – Wound Up

8. Downtown Boys – A Wall

7. The Cherry Wave – Don’t Start

6.The Persian Leaps – Picture My Reaction

5. Slowdive – Star Roving

4. Meat Wave – Leopard Print Jet Ski

3. Pile – Texas

2. Guided By Voices – Low Flying Perfection

1. Bad History Month – The Nonexistent Distance

Hit The Post : Lost Film & Mint Mile

photo description

When Jimmy Hewitt retired Orca Orca, his Boston based and might I add terrific dream pop outfit we were pretty bummed. That feeling eventually subsided last July when Hewitt released a collection of demos he had recorded in his Wesrtern, MA confines under the moniker of Lost Film. Well nearly a year later, Hewitt is poised to issue Imago, Lost Film’s full length debut and if the recently shared advance track, Something’s Missing is any indication, Imago may be the soundtrack to your late summer night comedowns. On Something Missing , Hewitt manages to find some sort sonic equilibrium with equal parts melancholy, redemption,  and subdued pop hooks.

Lost Film have announced a few Live dates in support of the new LP which includes a  can’t miss show at Great Scott on September 3rd along with Bent Shapes, Funeral Advantage, & Magic Magic.

We’ve been following the rumblings of Mint Mile featuring Tim Midyett formally of indie legends, Silkwork and The Bottomless Pit for a hot minute and we’re chuffed to find that Mint Mile has just released there debut EP , In Season & Ripe. Earlier this week the track Modern Day arrived on the interweb and immediately  bowled us over on first listen. The 12″ EP can be ordered through the fine folks at Comedy Minus One and also features appearances from members of Tre Orsi, Jeff Panal (Songs: Ohia) and Midyett’s former Silkworm bandmate, Andrew Cohen.